Health and Science Main
SWHR History

SWHR Staff
Job Opportunities
SWHR Publications
Contact Us
Corporate Partners

Below is a list of the Society's Board of Directors. The Board functions to provide direction and oversight to the staff. Click on the board member's name to find out more about them.

Nanette K. Wenger, M.D., M.A.C.P., F.A.C.C., F.A.H.A. **
Professor of Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine
Chief of Cardiology
Grady Memorial Hospital

Vice Chair
Irma E. Goertzen, R.N., M.A.

Former President and CEO
Magee Women's Hospital & Research Institute

Jacqueline Wolf, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Marie C. Flynn
Managing Director
Glenmede Trust Co.

Immediate Past Chair
Denise L. Faustman, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Director, Immunology Laboratory
Massachusetts General Hospital

Janet Belle, R.N.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey

Kathleen B. Drennan
Managing Director
Iris Global Clinical Trial Solutions

Gail Evans
Atlanta, Georgia

Linda C. Giudice, M.D., Ph.D.**
Professor and Chair, Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences
University of California, San Francisco

Florence P. Haseltine, Ph.D., M.D.**
Director, Center for Population Research, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
Founder, Society for Women's Health Research

Lindsey A. Kerr, M.D.
Associate Professor of Urology
Director, Pelvic
Floor Disorders Center
University of Utah

Celia Maxwell, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Assistant Vice President, Health Affairs
Director, Women's Health Institute
Howard University

Sandra Panem, Ph.D.
Cross Atlantic Partners

Carmen Sapienza, Ph.D.
Temple University Medical School

Joan Verplanck
NJ Chamber of Commerce

Nancy Walker
Vice President
Global Pharmaceutical Communications (GPC)
Johnson & Johnson

Laurie Zoloth, Ph.D.
Professor of Medical Humanities and Bioethics of Religion
Director of the Center for Bioethics, Science and Society
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

Affiliations are used for purposes of identification only.

** Indicates Board Members whose publications are listed on our recommended reading list.

Honorary Members of the Board

Debbie Allen

Natalie Angier

Bernadine P. Healy, M.D.
Medical and Science Columnist, US News and World Report

Hadassah Lieberman

The Honorable Connie Morella

Antonia C. Novello, M.D., M.P.H, Dr.P.H.
Commissioner, New York State Dept of Health

Mary Lake Polan, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H
Chair, Dept of OB/GYN, Stanford University School of Medicine

Patricia Scott Schroeder, J.D.
President and CEO, Association of American Publishers

Donna E. Shalala, Ph.D.
President, University of Miami

Gail Sheehy

Kenneth I. Shine, M.D.
Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs, The University of Texas System

Maxine F. Singer, Ph.D.
President Emeritus, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.
President Emeritus, Morehouse School of Medicine

Sue Ann Thompson
President and Founder, Wisconsin Women's Health Foundation

Shirley Tilghman, Ph.D.
President, Princeton University

Judy Woodruff

Trisha Yearwood

Top of Page



Last updated: January 10, 2006